Parents can be more actively involved by joining the school’s Board of Trustees, which has the responsibility for maintaining the fiscal health of the school. Members are elected for a term of three years and elections are held annually. Directors may serve up to two consecutive terms.

Westside Montessori School’s Board of Trustees is comprised of nine current and former parents. As a National Association of Independent Schools’ (NAIS) member, Westside Montessori School follows their Principles of Good Practice for Independent School Trustees.

The Board's Primary Responsibilities

Long-range, strategic planning
Hiring, supporting, and evaluating the Head of School
Reviewing and approving the annual school budget
Chairing and organizing major school events

The Head of School is the Board’s only employee and serves as the educational leader of the school. The Head of School is responsible for faculty, staff, and student selection, evaluation, and dismissal. They are responsible for communicating the mission of the school to the community, and for ensuring the professional quality and behavior of the faculty and staff.

Meet Our Board of Directors

Zoë Taylor
Board President
Michael Smith
Board Vice President
Noel Rushin
Board Secretary
Victor Low
Board Treasurer
Dr. David LaViscount
Head of School
Paige Chonka
Business Manager
Stephanie Gounder - Westside Montessori School Board of Trustees Member
Stephanie Gounder
Board Trustee
Michelle Priest
Board Trustee
Niranjan Raj - Westside Montessori School Board of Trustees Member
Niranjan (Auro) Raj
Board Trustee
Mari Rolen-Westside-Montessori-School-Board
Mari Rolen
Board Trustee
Shin San Sam
Board Trustee